Irish Mathematical Society
Cumann Matamaitice na hÉireann

15th September Meeting

National University of Ireland, Cork (UCC), Friday & Saturday, September 6-7, 2002


All talks will take place in Aras na Laoi 8 (AL8)

* * *

Friday 6 September

10.30 Registration and Coffee
11.00 Welcome address by Dr Gerard Wrixon, President, University College Cork

Session 1

Chair: Eugene Gath, President IMS

11.10 Alexei Pokrovskii, University College Cork
Equations with hysteresis nonlinearities: what does it mean, and why bother?
12.00 Tom Brady, Dublin City University
The linearity of the braid groups
12.30 James Gleeson, University College Cork
Microscale fluid mixing
1.00LUNCH in Staff Restaurant

Session 2

Chair: Richard Timoney

2.30 Albert Baernstein, University of Washington, St. Louis
The stretch conjecture for Lipschitz functions in the plane
3.20 Stephen Wills, University College Cork
Matrices versus tensor products: an application of operator spaces

Session 3

Chair: Martin Mathieu

4.10 Imre Leader, University of Cambridge
Partition regularity
5.00 Maria Meehan, University College Dublin
Mathematics by Example

Saturday 7 September

Session 4

Chair: David Armitage

9.30 Stephen Gardiner, University College Dublin
Poisson kernels, sets of determination, and approximation on the boundary
10.45 Peter Kennedy, University College Cork
Emerging applications of Mathematics in Microelectronics
11.35 John Lewis, Communications Network Research Institute, Dublin Institute of Technology
Large deviation theory in perspective
12.25 LUNCH

1.00 to 1.45 Annual General Meeting of Irish Mathematical Society

Session 5 - Tribute To Professor Finbarr Holland

Part A: Mathematics

Chair: Gerard Murphy

2.00 Albert Baernstein, University of Washington, St. Louis
Recent work related to the Bloch and Landau covering constants
2.40 Pat McCarthy, NUI Maynooth
The geometry of reproducing kernels
3.10 David Walsh, NUI Maynooth
Criteria for membership of the mean Lipschitz classes

Part B: Mathematical Competitions and Problem Solving

Chair: Gordon Lessells

4.00 Tom Laffey, University College Dublin
4.15 Imre Leader, University of Cambridge
4.30 Dave Flannery, Cork Institute of Technology
4.45 Des MacHale, University College Cork
5.00 Discussion
5.20 Close of meeting

For further information on the programme, and any other queries please contact either

Tom Carroll ( or Donal Hurley (

Last updated July 13, 2002. This page was created by Jo Goodyear and is maintained by Stephen Wills