# Draft minutes of the Irish Mathematical Society Annual General Meeting held on 30th August 2024 at Queen's University Belfast

Present: C. Boyd, P. Browne, S. Buckley, M. Bustamante, A. Carnevale, T. Carroll, L. Creedon, R. Flatley, B. Goldsmith, J. Grannell, R. Hill, T. Huettemann, C. Kelly, D. Kitson, B. Kreussler, E. Lingham, P. Lynch, D. Mackey, M. Mackey, J. Maglione, D. Malone, M. Manolaki, M. Mathieu, M. McAuley, P. Mellon, F. Murphy, P. Ó Catháin, A. O'Shea, G. Pfeiffer, K. Pfeiffer, R. Quinlan, T. Rossmann, H. Šmigoc, R. Smith, N. Snigireva, K. Wendland, D. Wraith.

Apologies: R. Gaburro, J.P. McCarthy, A. O'Farrell, S. O'Rourke.

# (1) Agenda / Conflicts of interest

The agenda was accepted and no conflicts of interest were declared.

#### (2) Minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on 1st September 2023 at University of Limerick were accepted.

# (3) Matters Arising

None.

## (4) Correspondence

See President's report.

## (5) President's Report

L. Creedon gave an overview of the Society's activities and correspondences in the past year. A full report will appear in the Bulletin. M. Mathieu has completed his term on the Committee and was praised for his long service to the Society having served as President, Editor of the Bulletin and committee member. A. O'Farrell has stepped down as Editor of the Bulletin after 14 years and received a round of applause in appreciation for his exceptional service to the Society. Peter Lynch (UCD) has been co-opted to the Committee to assist with preparations for the 50th Anniversary of the Society in 2026. The local organisers of the 2024 Annual Meeting, M. Mathieu, T. Huettemann and S. Moutari, were thanked for their efforts in creating an engaging and convivial meeting.

#### (6) New members

12 new membership applications were approved since the last AGM. The new members are: Milton Assunção, Rory Buckley, Joseph Dillon, Evan Keane, Mark Lyttle, Joshua Maglione, Michael McCauley, Salissou Moutari, Rory O'Brien, Maria Ryan, Eric Scala and Milena Venkova.

#### (7) Nominations for honorary membership

Professor Boris Botvinnik (University of Oregon) was nominated for honorary membership of the Society by A. O'Shea, D. Wraith and L. Creedon. Professor Botvinnik was previously a Distinguished Visiting Scholar at Maynooth University and maintains strong links with the Department of Mathematics and Statistics in Maynooth. The nomination was approved by the meeting.

# (8) Treasurer's Report

Accounts for 2023 were presented. There was a significant increase in Subscriptions, mainly due to lifetime membership applications, and there was no cost to the Society for the 2023 IMS Annual Meeting. The Committee opted to move surplus funds to savings certificates. For 2024, EMS subscription costs are expected to increase. No shortfall is expected. Members were reminded that charitable donations can be made to the Society through the IMS website. The report was approved.

## (9) Conference support fund

The following workshops were supported this year:

- •9th Conference on Research in Mathematics Education (DCU): October 2023.
- •Groups in Galway (University of Galway): May 2024
- •Topology Colloquium (University of Galway): June 2024
- •CETL-MSOR 2024 Conference (UL): August 2024

Applications to the fund were encouraged.

## (10) Bulletin

A. O'Farrell has stepped down as Editor of the Bulletin and T. Carroll has been appointed as the new Editor. Submissions to the Bulletin are encouraged. E. Lingham is handling book reviews. Suggestions for books to review, and for reviewers, are encouraged.

## (11) Report from Irish Committee for Mathematics Education (ICME)

A. O'Shea reported on ICME activities during the year. A full report will be published on the IMS website. The ICME membership consists of A. O'Shea (Maynooth, Chair), J. Crowley (MTU), R. Flatley (MIC), J. Grannell (UCC), M. Hanley (UCD), K. Pfeiffer (Galway) and R. Quinlan (Galway). The ICME ran a webinar series highlighting mathematics education articles of interest to the community. The talks attracted attendees from 12 universities across Ireland and the UK. Suggestions for future topics are welcomed. A report on second level textbook quality is being finalised. ICME plan to contact publishers, authors and teachers regarding the report. A report on the 2023 Leaving Certificate Exam Paper I has been completed and will be sent to the State Examinations Commission. The Irish Universities Association (IUA) has contacted universities requesting nominations for a review of the second level Mathematics syllabus. The Society has received a request from MTU to gather opinions from IMS members on what should be included in the review. A. Twohill (DCU) attended the General Assembly of the International Commission for Mathematical Instruction (ICMI) in Sydney in July.

# (12) Report from Irish Committee for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion in Mathematics (ICEDIM)

N. Snigireva reported on activities during the year on behalf of ICEDIM chair R. Gaburro. There are currently eight members of ICEDIM: A. Carnevale (University of Galway), T. Carroll (University College Cork), R. Gaburro (University of Limerick), N. Madden (University of Galway), D. Mackey (TU Dublin), D. Malone (Maynooth University), N. Snigireva (University of Galway) and H. Šmigoc (University College Dublin). The ICEDIM online seminar series commenced in Spring with speakers Pauline Mellon (UCD), Arundhathi Krishnan (MIC), Victoria Sánchez Muñoz (Galway) and Ashley Sheil (MTU). The ICEDIM Women in Mathematics Day 2024 took place on 10th May at University of Limerick as part of the international May12 celebrations. The speakers were Natalia Kopteva (UL), Mariia Kiiko (EGMO), Eabhnat Ní Fhloinn (DCU), Rachel Quinlan (Galway), Sinéad Ryan (TCD). R. Gaburro attended the European Women in Mathematics (EWM) event on 14th July in Seville. An EDI statement for the Society is in preparation. M. Mackey (UCD) was thanked for creating the ICEDIM webpage.

#### (13) Proposed rule change for members aged 75+

The following rule change was discussed and approved by the meeting: Those members who have reached 75 years of age, and who have been members in good financial standing with the Society for the previous 15 years, are entitled upon notification to the Treasurer to have their subscription rate reduced to  $\in 0$ .

#### (14) Elections

The current terms of the following committee members came to an end this year: Tom Carroll; Leo Creedon; Romina Gaburro; Rachel Quinlan; Ann O'Shea. T. Carroll and L. Creedon reached the end of three consecutive terms and were consequently not eligible for re-election to the committee. The remaining committee members were eligible for re-election.

The following nominations were received and election to these positions was approved by the meeting:

Candidate	Role	Nominated by	Seconded by
Rachel Quinlan	President	Leo Creedon	Cónall Kelly
David Malone	Vice President	Leo Creedon	Cónall Kelly
Romina Gaburro	Member	Derek Kitson	Rachel Quinlan
Padraig Ó Catháin	Member	Leo Creedon	Derek Kitson
Ann O'Shea	Member	Derek Kitson	Rachel Quinlan

## (15) **AOB**

A prize for best poster was presented at the closing of the Annual Meeting. The prize was sponsored by SIAM UKIE.

Derek Kitson (MIC) derek.kitson@mic.ul.ie